Over the past decade, Good Morning have carved out a peculiar, hard-to-define indie career for themselves, amassing a global cult fanbase and hundreds of millions of streams despite (or perhaps because of) their defiantly DIY approach.

The band/duo/recording-thing from Naarm / Melbourne, Australia come together as Stefan Blair (29, brown hair, 6 foot something) plays most of the instruments and sings half the songs, and Liam Parsons (30, brown hair, 6 foot on the dot) plays the rest of the instruments and sings the other half of the songs. The band name is intentionally impossible to Google but hasn’t gotten in the way of them getting shouted out by Tyler, The Creator, sampled by A$AP Rocky, going viral on TikTok (for their 2015 track ‘Warned You’), or touring the globe (including the US, Mexico, China, Japan, Thailand, and beyond).

Good Morning’s 2021 album Barnyard, both thoughtful and catchy, released internationally via Polyvinyl, was met with widespread acclaim from Rolling Stone, NME, Stereogum, The Line Of Best Fit, Consequence, Alt Press, Paste, DIY Magazine, Northern Transmissions, KCRW, 6Music and more – setting the scene for their seventh record Good Morning Seven. 

Arriving on March 22nd via Polyvinyl (Julia Jacklin, Alvvays), Good Morning Seven revels in the gift of time: a 10 year long collaborative relationship, time taken to set up a studio with the gear and resources of their dreams (compared to the days-long recording of their back catalogue from home), culminating in their most creatively experimental album yet. A 17 track double album that invites the listener into a world of unwavering tonal depth and sonic masterpieces including original wind section arrangements. 

Produced and engineered by the band in their Melbourne home studio and mixed in Joshua Tree, CA by the band with help from Tyler Karmen (My Morning Jacket, Sharon Van Etten, Devendra Banhart), this album sees Good Morning thrust forward from quietly confident, on their own terms outliers to a partnership force that recalls the artistic approaches of Alex G and MGMT. Against a sonic terrain likened to Weyes Blood or Angel Olsen, they soundtrack pushing through life’s shittest times to find the courage to pick yourself back up again. 

Release: March 22, 2024, Polyvinyl