King Krule has released his fourth studio album Space Heavy via XL Recordings / Remote Control. The 15-track full-length inhabits the deepest reaches of the subterranean sonic world that Archy Marshall has constructed over the course of his career as King Krule.

Written over the course of commutes between London and Liverpool, where Archy was splitting his time, he found himself fascinated by the notion of “the space between”; the space haunted by dreams of love, lost connection, losing people and situations to the guillotine of the universe. Once written by Archy, the music was developed by frequent collaborator Dilip Harris and long-time band mates Ignacio Salvadores (Saxophonist), George Bass (Drummer), James Wilson (Bass Guitarist) and Jack Towell (Guitarist). The result sees King Krule stepping into the height of their artistic powers; using his years of experience to create a dynamic body of work that reveals something new with every listen.

On Space Heavy you will hear a generational artist stepping into the height of their artistic powers – the auteurism apparent on his debut 6 Feet Beneath The Moon, the shapeshifting sonic palette of The OOZ, the primality of Man Alive! and the raw vulnerability expressed on You Heat Me Up, You Cool Me Down all coalesce into a wizened, dynamic body of work that reveals new elements with each listen. In line with Archy’s interest in the space between, it is an album wherein the negative space demands the same attention as the positive space. If one is willing to wade into the mire the reward is rich. 

Release: June 9th, 2023, XL Recordings/Remote Control